Dru Yoga - Swadisthana chakra: sacral chakra | DruYoga.com


Dru Yoga - Swadisthana chakra: sacral chakra

The seven chakras of the human body
The 7 chakras are the energy centres in our body through which energy flows. The word 'chakra' is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning 'wheel'. Literally translated from the Hindi it means 'Wheel of spinning energy'. A chakra is like a whirling, vortex-like, powerhouse of energy. Here is a list of them:

  1. the muladhara -  base or root chakra - last bone in spinal cord - coccyx
  2. the swadisthana  - sacral chakra - ovaries/prostate
  3. the manipura - solar plexus chakra - navel area
  4. the anahata - heart chakra  - heart
  5. the vishudha/visshudi - throat chakra - throat and neck
  6. the ajna - brow or third eye chakra - pineal gland or third eye
  7. the sahasraha - crown chakra - top of head

Understanding the Swadisthana chakra - also known as the sacral/naval centre
This chakra is located above the pubic bone and below the navel. While the root chakra is concerned with survival, the second chakra is the centre associated with pleasure, procreation, empathy, connection and creativity.


Health issues that indicate that the second centre is out of balance

  • uterine or bladder problems
  • impotence
  • sciatica
  • lower back pain
  • problems with the large intestine

A balanced second chakra leads to feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure, and joy. When this chakra is out of balance, a person may experience emotional instability, fear of change, sexual dysfunction, depression, or addictions.

The word swadhistana can be translated as “the dwelling place of the self.” The element associated with this centre is water. It is therefore greatly influenced by the moon. (Interestingly the symbol associated with it is an upturned crescent moon). The colour associated is orange.


Dru tutors: 
Wellbeing hub categories: 

Leave a comment