koshas | DruYoga.com

Introduction to the koshas

Try us FREE for 30 days

Yoga where you want it

When you want it

Start Free Trial


Introduction to the Koshas

10 mins

 In Dru Yoga you will have noticed that we often talk about the koshas. These are the five  layers (or sheaths)  of the body. Every single human being is made up of these layers which are:

1.  the physical  - (annamaya kosha)

2. the energic - (pranamaya kosha)

3. the mental and emotional -  (manomaya kosga)

4. the intellectual - (vijjnanamaya kosha) 

5. and the blissfull - (anandamaya kosha)

In this video Annie answers key questions:

  • what are koshas? 
  • why and how do we incorporate them into our practise?
  • what is the definition of the word 'kosha'?


    Leave a comment

    Members' comments:

    17 Apr, 2018
    Linda Griffiths's picture
    Linda Griffiths
    Annie, thank you so much for a beautiful and easily understood explanation of the Koshas xxx
    4 Apr, 2016
    Carol Swindell's picture
    Carol Swindell
    Lovely explanation of the Koshas.
    29 Feb, 2016
    joanredfern's picture
    Thanks Annie....great refresher.
    10 Feb, 2016
    JosephineP's picture
    Thankyou Annie...very helpful..thankyou so much.


    Recommended for you...