Introduction to the koshas

Annie Jones

Co-founder, International School of Dru Yoga

As co-founder of Dru (UK), Director of the Dru Yoga Online Studio, a nutritionalist, Ayurvedic Consultant and Live and Dry Blood Analyst Annie is one of the...

Introduction to the Koshas

10 mins

 In Dru Yoga you will have noticed that we often talk about the koshas. These are the five  layers (or sheaths)  of the body. Every single human being is made up of these layers which are:

1.  the physical  - (annamaya kosha)

2. the energic - (pranamaya kosha)

3. the mental and emotional -  (manomaya kosga)

4. the intellectual - (vijjnanamaya kosha) 

5. and the blissfull - (anandamaya kosha)

In this video Annie answers key questions:

  • what are koshas? 
  • why and how do we incorporate them into our practise?
  • what is the definition of the word 'kosha'?


    Leave a comment

    Members' comments:


    4 Apr, 2016's picture
    Lovely explanation of the Koshas.
    29 Feb, 2016
    joanredfern's picture
    Thanks Annie....great refresher.
    10 Feb, 2016
    JosephineP's picture
    Thankyou Annie...very helpful..thankyou so much.

    Other videos you might like